Start Your Own Childcare
Occasionally we see parents looking for child care ultimately making the choice that they would really like to stay home with their child and start their own family child care home. If you choose to start your own family childcare home, A Caregiver Network offers all the classes to help you get started and a networking system for support and training to continue your your license from year to year.
You will need to complete the following courses before the Colorado Department of Human Services, Division of Child Care comes out to inspect your home and recommend you for licensure:
- 15 hour Family Child Care Pre-Licensing Course approved by the Division of Child Care
- First Aid and CPR for infant, child and adult
- Universal Precautions (control of bodily substances and minimizing the spread of germs and disease)
- Medication Administration
- These classes can be purchased from the shopping cart.
Family Child Care Pre-Licensing Class
The Family Child Care Pre-licensing course is a 15 hour course covers the following topics:
- 3.0 Hours Overview of Child Care Rules
- 1.5 hours of Child Growth & Development (CG&D) of Toddlers (Core 1.5, level I),
- 1.5 hours of CG&D of Preschoolers (Core 1.6, level I),
- 1.5 hours of Developmentally Appropriate Practices (Core 3.1, level I) ,
- 1.5 hours of Guidance (Core 4.2, level I),
- 1.5 hours of Administration and Supervision of Early Childhood Programs (Core 8.1, level I),
- 1.5 hours of Health, Nutrition and Safety (Core 2.3, level I),
- 1.0 hour of Family and Community Relationships, (Core 5.4, level II),
- 1.0 hour of Cultural and Individual Diversity (Core 6.1, level II),
- 1.0 hour of Professionalism (Core 7.3, level I)
Prior to the first day of class the student should read through and become familiar with the Family Child Care Rules & Regulations: This packet can be purchased from the State Forms Center or from our shopping cart. The rules and regulations for a Family Child Care Home is also located on-line. (not guaranteed to be the latest version however). Rules and regulations are only available in English. If you cannot read English, please see the paragraph below on language barriers.
The Pre-Licensing Course Book will be given out the first day of class. You can access the course book and individual forms on the website.
Students who complete the course must obtain their license within 1 year or take the course again.
Students who have any questions regarding the homework or anything regarding this course may call one of the instructors:
Mary Ingleby: 303-916-2530
Dawn Rhods: 720-989-1133
Each student must complete a pre-licensing course and be in attendance for 15 contact hours. In addition each student must show competency in the following methods and/or by completion of the following:
Prepare a portfolio
Complete their homework assignment
Participate in group activities and successfully pass oral testing
Pass a written test with 80% or higher
Please allow 6 to 10 hours to complete the homework. Students who have signed up for this course, can download the following homework assignments:
Grades Required to receive a Certificate of Training:
Students must complete all tests and assignments with a minimum of 80% accuracy in order to receive a certificate of training.
Should a student not meet this requirement showing competency levels as required by the State of Colorado, the student may take the class over one more time at no cost. After taking the course a second time, the student must pay in order to retake the course again.
All classes are taught in English. Students must be able to read and understand the content of the Family Child Care Rules and Regulations in order to pass the pre-licensing course. This booklet is only available in English.
Students with a primary language other than English, may have an interpreter accompany them in class. A Caregiver Network does not charge for the interpreter to attend. A Caregiver Network does not supply interpreters and the student is responsible to pay any fees the interpreter may charge the student. The interpreter will not receive a certificate of training.